top of page

2023 Breakfast with the Commissioner Recap

Our Breakfast with the Commissioner fundraiser on Friday, February 3rd was a huge success for the museum! Thank you to North Carolina Commissioner of Agriculture Steve Troxler for 18 years of helping us raise funds for the museum!

This year the Commissioner brought approximately 400 of his friends to help celebrate the museum’s 40th Anniversary and our award honorees! The Excellence in Agriculture Award was presented to Dr. Bob Patterson, NCSU Professor of Crop Science. This award was sponsored by Southern Bank and Trust. The Innovative Young Farmer of the Year, an award sponsored by Farm Credits of North Carolina, was presented to Archie Griffin.

Pictured left to right are Evan Kleinhans, CEO AgCarolina Farm Credit; Lawrence Griffin, father of Archie Griffin (recipient of Innovative Young Farmer of the Year Award); Tim Pace, Chief Lending Officer, AgCarolina Farm Credit; Commissioner Steve Troxler; Dr. Bob Patterson, NCSU Professor of Crop Science (recipient of Excellence in Agricultural Award); Brent Williams, Senior Vice President, Southern Bank and Trust; and Susan Ford, Chairman of the Board, Tobacco Farm Life Museum.

In addition, the Museum’s board recognized the vision and dedication of Suzanne Bailey, founder of the museum, and announced plans to name the packhouse on the museum grounds after Mrs. Bailey.

Thank you to all of our sponsors and attendees for another fantastic Breakfast with the Commissioner!

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page